Conway Receives "Fire Safe South Carolina Community" Designation


The Fire Department was recently recognized as a “Fire Safe South Carolina” Community for their active participation in developing community risk reduction plans for the community.  Fire Safe South Carolina was launched in 2017 by South Carolina State Fire through a partnership with the South Carolina State Firefighters’ Association, the South Carolina State Association of Fire Chiefs, and the South Carolina Fire Marshal Association.  The City of Conway is one of 104 departments from 36 counties recognized as the 2021 recipients of this designation.  These designated communities continually work to reduce fire-related injuries in our state, thereby decreasing the risks for residents and firefighters. They also promote consistent fire safety messaging and stress the importance of providing all relative data collected at fire scenes. 

To earn the “Fire Safe South Carolina” designation, fire departments completed courses to improve data quality, trained community partners to deliver in-home safety visits, and further developed their skills through online National Fire Academy courses in risk reduction and assessment. 

In 2021, 366 new community partners were identified statewide, more than 1,000 fire service members were educated on risk reduction-related topics, and nearly 500,000 citizens were educated on fire and life safety topics by local fire departments. 

This designation would not be possible without the hard work and dedication by Fire Marshal Jeremy Carter, Sergeant Jarrett Wallace, Engineer David Haines, and Firefighter Leigha Howell and assistance from two community partners, the Waccamaw Sertoma Club and Mister Sparky. 

The department will receive a yard sign during a ceremony at the South Carolina State Firefighters’ Conference in June at the Myrtle Beach Convention Center.